Gertrude’s House. As if I didn’t bang on enough in other internet forums, I decided I needed one of my very own.

Basically, I realised that in my efforts to get published in the “real world” , there was no end of helpful advice out there in blog land. But I get a lot of my writing practice  – and, to be honest, my writing pleasure – from writing fan fiction. (Specifically, just so you know, House MD fan fiction. And I primarily write House/OC (OC = original character) romance fan fiction.)

And on that topic, well, there’s really not so much out there. Or, if there is, it’s hard to find!

I know, fan fiction writing is seen as geeky and nerdy and – to use an Australian word – daggy. And often looked down upon as an inferior literature form. Yes, there is some terrible fan fiction out there. But, let’s be honest, there’s some terrible books out there too. I know. I’ve read them.

What I want to do with this blog is:

  • talk about my writing  and what I’ve learned about writing, posting and reviewing fan fiction (because after all, isn’t every blog just a little bit selfish and self-centred)
  • to have somewhere I can interact with my readers outside of the limited review-reply features
  • occasionally get some of my wonderfully talented fan fiction writer friends to contribute their wisdom and advice
  • pass on some of the things I’ve learned to the betterment of my fellow fan fiction writers

I know, it’s not “save the world”, but hey, it’s my blog. And I’m not doing this out of a sense that I am any kind of expert – far from it. I guess I hope that by sharing my knowledge, I might encourage others to do the same and then we all get to learn.

I can think of so many things I want to blog about. A few of the topics I want to cover include:

  • some of the general writing hints and tips I’ve gathered along the way that apply to writing any kind of fiction, whether your own characters or some you’ve borrowed
  • posting fan fiction – how often, how to build a ‘fan base’, how to make readers eager to read your work (not that I know all the answers, here, just a topic I want to explore!)
  • reviewing fan fiction – what authors really want to hear from readers
  • how other writers write, the processes they use, the techniques and tools and tips they have to pass on
  • the specific challenges and opportunities of fan fiction writing and the limitations of using someone else’s characters
  • the decision of whether or not to follow the ‘canon’ of the ‘verse you are playing in
  • how to deal with developments in your chosen fandom within your writing

There. I figure if I can think of seven post topics just off the top of my head, that’s a good way to start. And of course this is where you can add comments and tell me about other stuff you’d like to see me cover — or write something yourself for me to publish – I think I’m going to love guest bloggers if I have any volunteers!

Who knows where we’ll go from here. Drop me a line if you have further thoughts and I hope this turns out to be an exciting new adventure for us all.

